Allo Montreal

2 Feb

Welcome, Bienvenue.

Should I write them the other way around? French first, English, second? After all I am in Québec, yet then again, I am not a “franco”, nor an “anglo,” but an “allo”…

Allo.- From the Greek word meaning “different” or “other”.

I have never experienced anything like this in my life. The fact that a society which proclaims openess and tolerance to new comers, actually categorizes them under a prefix that pertain the language you speak. So, if you don’t speak French or English, then you are part of…”The Others”.

It’s “ok,” I like being different.  I guess it fits me well as I always been “different”, at school, as a kid growing up (always with my head in the clouds), with my orientation, and now by choosing a new home in Quebec, a nation within Canada in which if being an immigrant is not enough, the fact that I am neither “franco” or “anglo,” still makes a statement.

Don’t get me wrong, I am here by choice, I speak English and French without a problem, sometimes even without an accent in which people actually go: “T’ as pas l’ air mexicain, toieee”; “You must be living in Canada for long because I can’t detect an accent…” (I know, they always expect Sofia Vergara in “Modern Family). I get that a lot; I also speak Portuguese, Mexican (I get that a lot), and some Italian, which come to think about it, makes me not an “allophone” but a polyglot!!!

But that does not help much, unless I am fluent in Mandarin, Swahili or Afghan. That’s fine too.

Like I said, I am here by choice, and so are you if you are still reading this.

This is just a love hate métro ride I am taking through this great place I call home, which I can only sometimes describe in words, no matter the language.

Join me!

(I should be writing this in French, but then again , I just like to go against the flow).

¡Allez y!

One Response to “Allo Montreal”

  1. Louis February 4, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    Me too am an Allo, who was welcomed to this country by the Maple Leaf and years down the road decided to move to the Fleur de Lys by choice. I was here during the last referendum in witch we allos were to be blamed for the fall of the OUI side, I guess I was suppose to just come here and pay my taxes to the drunk Parizeau and have no saying in my democratic rights, bad enough that it is this Government who would decides wich school my children would go to but I don’t have any so I guess it doesn’t effect me, because if I did I wouldn’t lay my eggs here.
    I guess we allos were the one who kept Quebec in Canada not like the rest of Canadians the left this Nation afraid of loosing their bussiness.
    People tend to forget that we all came from somewhere or else Canada would only be populated by Natives, and here we’re called Allos so called “different”, How on this world are we suppose be part of a whole being in Quebec or Canada just because of our mother tongue being “different” no wonder some new people have problems integrating into this province because from the start they are treated different.
    Dear friends let’s start now by saying that no matter where we come from or choose to live we’re all created equal, and respect the differences as long we don’t change the customs of the country we choose to live,or impose our beliefs, after all imposition creates division, not language.

Leave a Reply

